My 5-hour energy is butter coffee

My 5-hr Energy is butter coffee.  The “fancy” butter coffee is BulletProof Coffee (Google that for more, and boy is there plenty), but I make super basic butter coffee and get some darn good results.

What’s so special about butter coffee?

All it is is black coffee and butter.  the fat in the butter fills you up like you wouldn’t believe, and there is some chemical reaction between the fat and the caffeine that means the caffeine is released a little slower so you get a longer sustained caffeine buzz rather than a rush and then a crash.  Because there is no sugar and no carbs, you feel full and your blood sugar levels don’t do weird things.  Those energy drinks that promise to keep you full for 4-5 hours?  This stuff actually does it, and you can pronounce all the ingredients.

What does it taste like?

It doesn’t taste like butter.  It tastes like a Latte from starbucks, but a little less sweet.

How do I make it?

If you follow the bulletproof coffee people, you might think you need some fancy gadget or blender.  Nope.  you’ll need:

hot black coffee, brewed in whatever coffee maker you have

1/2 to 1 tbsp of unsalted butter

a mason jar (you know, those hipster things that are so popular right now? I bet your Mom has a ton in her basement)

brew up your coffee. do not add any sugar or cream. While your coffee is brewing, fill the mason jar half way up with water and put it in the microwave for 1 minute.  after a minute, leave the hot water sitting in the jar.  This is to heat your jar up, and keep your coffee hotter longer (I like my coffee super hot, and the process of making butter coffee cools it down really fast).  When your coffee is done,  dump the water out of the jar,  put in the pat of butter, and then pour coffee over the butter, filling the jar no more than 2/3 full.  Now put that lid on tight and shake shake shake your heart out for about 60 seconds. If the jar is too hot to the touch, put on some oven mitts. The butter will melt, your coffee will get all frothy, and it’ll make a really cool noise.  I drink it right out of the mason jar because I don’t want to dirty another mug.  Because you just filled hot coffee with air and cold  butter, your coffee is going to get cold fast. Be aware.

Any downsides to butter coffee?

eh, sort of but not really? First of all, good quality butter is NOT cheap.   I don’t have butter coffee every day, not even every other day, and wow I’m going through butter fast!

Also, you just put more fat and protein into your body faster than you are probably used to.  Remember your Mom telling you to make sure you get enough fiber?  Yeah, keep that phrase in mind.  If you’ve ever done a high protein super low carb diet, you know exactly what I’m talking about.

2 thoughts on “My 5-hour energy is butter coffee

    • Can you have butter on paleo? I don’t do paleo, but I do my best to limit carbs. Butter Coffee helps me feel full while minimizing carbs early in the day. My husband offered to buy me a little blender, but the last thing I need in my teeny kitchen is another gizmo to store and clean.

      Like

Leave a Reply

